Blaming God?

With each new transgression, more damage is done to our race and the world we live in. As we invent new ways to sin and grieve God, we also bring more and more suffering and evil into our world (Romans 1:28-32)

14We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. 15I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature.[c] For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. Romans 7:14-20

Everyone is guilty of it. Something horrible happens in life and we blame God, or whoever we think is up there. It’s amazing how many people don’t go to church, or read their bible, and only seem to recognize God when something goes wrong, or they need something. A society of spoiled kids. Your Highness the Baby!

The truth is that God doesn’t cause evil. That would be a massive contradiction because God is good…all the time! So why do so many bad things happen here on earth? Why for instance is there a commercial on T.V. with a sappy Sarah Mclachan song playing and horrible depressing images of abused animals? How could a good God allow this to happen?

God told Adam before Eve was created that he was not to eat of the fruit of the knowledge of good and evil. (Gen. 2:17) Further God warned that in the day he did eat fruit of that tree man would surely die.

God gave us free will, he knew we would fall short of his perfect standards. Free will is responsible for some of the greatest atrocities in history. What does God have to do with the Nazis and their mass genocide of millions of Jews? Or, more closely to here and now, the attacks on the world trade center and Oklahoma City? These were brought on by men and their own decisions.

What about some of the bad decisions we make in life? Why would God let us go down a path that he already knows is going to destroy us? Why if he loves us so much, does he allow us to do things that will hurt us?

Remember that God is the father. The creator of everything.  I am reminded of my current situation. When I was going through the hell that drug addiction is I didn’t understand why so many bad things were happening in my life. I thought that God had abandoned me. In reality he had simply taken a step back, allowing me to experience all that pain so I could come out with life experiences that He can use for others! It’s like the parent who takes a step back while their child is trying to learn how do something. They keep trying and trying and the parent wants to step in and show the child how to do it. But deep down they know that if they allow that child, with minimal guidance to figure it out, the rewards and character building for the child are invaluable.

God wants us all to be with him in eternity. He knows that with certain pains and life experience we are able to better serve His will. Its very hard to understand because God is on a totally different level than us. Have you ever tried to carry on a conversation with an ant? What we say and do makes sense to us, but that insect could never understand us because we have speech capabilities. The awesome power of God is unimaginable. His plan for us, we do not know.

Here’s another question that needs to be answered, or at least acknowledged. What about the millions of people starving around the world? A recent study showed the psychological and spiritual impact that extreme suffering such as this can bring on. People that are happy in life don’t go to the religious extremes that people who are suffering go to. Study shows in fact, that people put in these extreme situations actually have more faith than ever! It’s an interesting point to ponder.

I can honestly say I am grateful for what I’ve been through, what I put myself through, what God allowed me to do to myself. My experience gives me the chance to help others get out of that hole.

The Apostle Paul put it like this…

…or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.  Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.  But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

3 Comments

Filed under blog, Christianity, faith, Inspiration, Life, lifestyle, Recovery, Religion

3 responses to “Blaming God?

  1. God bless you on your journey!
    I’m praying for you as you help others as you have been helped.

  2. Natasha

    Beautiful! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

