Goodbye 2011! Hello Serenity!

John 12:46

I have come as a light to shine in this dark world, so that all who put their trust in me will no longer remain in the dark.

I had mentioned in a previous entry that this last year was a very very crazy one! As this year draws to an end I can’t help but reflect back on the chaos that my life was.

I was hospitalized 3 times due to my drinking and using! For me the party ended a long time ago but I just could not stop. The only times that I would stop was when something would stop me, hospital etc. My physical and mental health were a disaster area.

There were times where that lifestyle caused me to think that I was losing my mind, and to be honest I was. When you continually ingest those poisons it deteriorates everything about you. Some of my best and most loyal friends in the world could not even handle being around me for too long. When I look back on it I realize that I wouldn’t have been able to handle watching someone commit prolonged suicide either!

Acts 22:16

What are you waiting for? Get up and be baptized. Have your sins washed away by calling on the name of the Lord.’

For most of my life I knew absolutely nothing about God. It says in the Bible that when you search for him, honestly search, you will find Him.

Jeremiah 29:13

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

That is why I call this blog what I do. I spent years living in the dark, a slave to my addiction. That lifestyle is a full time job in itself, and the most lonely depraved way of life there is. When I prayed my first real prayer God really did save me. He put me on a path to become whole again! I had no idea that His impact would be so huge in my life. I guess that if God can create everything there is in the universe,picking me up and putting me on a road to salvation is nothing to Him!

2011 will go down as the worst/best year of my life. I say this because of the hell I put myself through. I also say best because God reached down, and changed my life forever! God bless you all and I pray that 2012 brings you happiness, true happiness, the kind that God loves to give us!

4 Comments

Filed under blog, Christianity, faith, Inspiration, Life, lifestyle, Recovery, Religion, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Goodbye 2011! Hello Serenity!

  1. josephmctaggart

    Wonderful honesty brother…..thats a great sygn…..

    Am thinking of you.

  2. chris young

    thanks for the inspiration making me think maybe i should reevaluate my own priorities

  3. God is going to use you mightily, Out. I can’t tell you how proud of you I am. As an AA member myself, I will have nineteen years of continuous sobriety in April. Drinking is the last thing on one’s mind as time stacks up, but keep going to those meetings to get your foundation rock-solid. Thank God for AA, right?

    I wish you the best in the coming new year and may God bless, keep you, and continue to use you as He desires. (hugging)

    Your sis in Christ,

    Adrienne

    • Thank you so very much! And God Bless you! I get sooo much out of reading your blog, I love it! And yes thank God for A.A.! I truly believe that the big book was directly from God through Bill W. and the other “old timers”. I pray that 2012 brings you all the God has intended for you!

      K.

Leave a Reply

